Pie-ville

My friend E who (I thought foolishly) moved to Asheville loves pie. Lurrrrrrrrves pie. Can’t get enough of the stuff.  There’s no House of Pies here. Or Apple Pan. Or Du-par’s. What was he thinking?  What if he really needed a piece of pie at 3 in the morning?  Pie emergencies happen, people.  So, armed with a pie dish as housewarming gift, I made my way to Asheville and promised him I would make lots of pie while I was here.  I started last night.

Breakfast pie

Breakfast pie - the best kind!

Seeing as I am in the South, and so very close to Georgia, I decided to start with a Southern Peach pie with raspberries.  At the market, there were several kinds of peaches. I asked a man next to me what he thought was best for pie.  He told me he thought the ones from California looked good.  Oh.  Hmmm.  I bought the Southern Peaches anyway, and have no regrets.

Here’s what I did.

Southern Peach Pie with Raspberries

  • 5 large ripe peaches
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup cornstarch
  • 3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • juice of one large orange
  • 3 tablespoons rum (there wasn’t any vanilla extract in E’s kitchen)
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • 2 pie crusts (one top, one bottom – from scratch or frozen)

Cut an X in blossom end of each peach. Have ready a large bowl of ice and cold water. Fill a large pot three fourths full with water and bring to a boil. Working in batches, blanch peaches 15 seconds or so and transfer with a slotted spoon to ice water. Slip skins from peaches and, working over a large bowl to catch the juices, cut peaches into 1/2-inch-thick wedges. Gently toss peaches with sugar, cornstarch, lemon and orange juice, rum (or vanilla), and raspberries until combined well.

Southern Peach

Fill pie with fruit and it's juices to 1/4 inch below the top of the pan

Pre heat oven to 375 degrees.

Spoon filling into chilled pie crust.  Juices should come up no higher than 1/4 inch below the lip of the pan.  Brush a little beaten egg onto the edge of the pie, and place rolled out and chilled top onto the pie.  Press the edges to seal and trim the edge with a sharp knife or pastry scissors.  Any excess dough can be used for decorations on top.  Cut several vents into the top crust, about 1/2 inch each.  Brush the crust with remaining egg and sprinkle a little sugar on top.

Peach and Razz Pie, topped

Covered pie with peach decoration and sugar on top

Place pie on top of a cookie sheet (to avoid spillage) and bake for about 1 hour or until crust is golden and baked through.  If the crust starts to burn, cover edges with a crust guard or tin foil.

Allow pie to cool for 1 1/2 hours after baking so the juices set.  This is the hardest part!

I won’t lie, we cut into it a little earlier than we should have.  It was still pretty fantastic.

Baked

Oh so juicy!

The best part about baking a pie at night is that you can have some for breakfast the next day.  This morning the pie was completely set.  E and I both had some for breakfast and I walked the rest over to the neighbors.

I now have a clean slate for today’s pie: banana cream with a chocolate-lined shell.  I can’t think of a better way to celebrate my birthday.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

